In short: Definitely impressive but really not groundbreaking at all

There has been so much hype about Golem being an experience that will change how we perceive theatre that I was desperate to see it. If I hadn’t been, this review might have been less bitter.

1927 company’s show is insanely clever and flawlessly executed, with a distinctly styled, quirky animated film projected onto one large and several small screens throughout the whole show, interfacing with the actors in various different ways, one or two surprising enough to make me laugh out loud. It is also a zeitgeisty look at the kind of dystopia that comes from over reliance on technology, though neither particularly insightful in its observations or exciting in how it presents them.

But my bigger issue is that it is not different to other theatre around at present, it is sitting right in the middle of it all. Accordion soundtracked dystopia? Hello from Kneehigh. Actors interact cleverly with film? Wave from over there Forkbeard Fantasy and Lepage. Produce characters so dislikable that the audience can’t possibly identify with them? That’ll be any Brechtian new writing ever then.

I find myself wanting to shout “stop playing pompously with my intellect and give me something to make my heart scream”

Vital Stats
Show: Golem
Company: 1927
Venue: The Young Vic
Date: 30th Decmber 2014

Leave a comment